Did you know someone could use your iPhone to track your precise location without your knowledge or permission? Fortunately, Apple now offers a feature called Safety Check that allows us to spot and block these unauthorized trackers.
What’s great about this new tool is that it automatically detects what you’re sharing, like your location or photos, and with whom and how, instantly disabling access and information.
It’s a game changer when it comes to your safety. This can mean the difference between life and death, especially if someone is in a domestic violence situation.
What is a security check?
You’ll need to update your iPhone to the latest iOS 16 software before you’ll see the new Safety Check feature. It was created by Apple for users who feel their physical safety is at risk, whether it’s stalking, harassment, or a risk of domestic violence or similar situations.
Send Funny Messages With These IPHONE Tricks
When Safety Check is enabled, it allows users to choose who they share their information with, restrict Messages and FaceTime to their iPhone, reset system privacy permissions for apps, change their passcode, change their Apple ID password, and more.
Where can I find Security Checkup on my iPhone?
When Safety Check is enabled, which apps use it?
When Safety Check is enabled, the following apps will stop sharing information with the people you restrict:
- shared calendar
- Share a location using Find
- share notes
- Shared photos (including shared galleries and shared albums)
How to Get Back a Lost iPhone
When enabled, what information stops being shared with Safety Check?
When Safety Check is enabled, it deletes all data collected by the following apps, networks, and features:
- contact person
- files and folders
- local network
- location service
- Media and Apple Music
- Sports and Fitness
- Speech Recognition
APPLE, GOOGLE, AMAZON & FACEBOOK ALWAYS LISTEN UNLESS YOU CHANGE THESE SETTINGS
What are the functions of the security check?
Safety Check has three main functions.
1. Emergency reset
The first function to look at in Safety Check is Emergency reset. This is for anyone who wants to reset all people and app access immediately, and anyone who wants to review and reset all settings associated with your Apple ID.
- Your location will no longer be shared in Find Out
- Your privacy permissions for all apps will be reset
- Messages and FaceTime will be limited to your iPhone
Have an iPhone?Don’t wait another second to update key privacy settings
2. Manage sharing and access
If you only want to limit sharing with certain people, you can chooseManage sharing and access.This will allow you to customize which people and applications can access your information.
3. Quick Exit
Finally, if you need to quickly hide the information you’ve set in the Safety Check app, all you have to do is tap the “Quick Exit” button, which will save any changes you’ve made and instantly take you back to the Safety Check home page. No one will be able to access the changes you’ve made in the meantime, basically covering your tracks.
Click here for the Fox News app
Once you click “Manage Sharing & Access,” it will take you to a list of your contacts, apps, and other devices (Mac laptops, iPads, etc.), and you’ll be able to choose who and what you want to share your information with. All your work is saved, and you can always return to the security check later and change your work.
For more of my Apple tips, head over to CyberGuy.com and search for “Apple” and be sure to sign up for my free newsletter.