Our iPhones provide us with all the conveniences we could possibly need, right? It lets us access maps when we’re lost, the internet when we need more information, and even social media when we’re bored.
You may not realize how much information you share with others that you may have forgotten. Apple has introduced a useful new feature called Safety Checkup that will guide you through what you’re sharing, with whom, and how to revoke access. Be sure to check these settings if you think someone is stalking you.
What is a security check?
If you’ve recently updated your iPhone to the latest iOS 16 software, you’ve noticed a new safety check feature that comes with the update. Safety Check was created by Apple for users who feel their physical safety is at risk, whether it’s stalking or harassment.
After you enable Safety Checkup, you can choose who you share your information with. It also restricts Messages and FaceTime to iPhone, resets system privacy permissions for apps, changes passcode, changes Apple ID password, and more.
HOW TO TURN THE CAMERA AND ZOOM IN FACETIME
Where can I find Security Checkup on my iPhone?
- Go to your Settings app
- Scroll down and select Privacy and Security
- Scroll down and select Security Checkup
- When Safety Check is enabled, which apps use it?
When Safety Check is enabled, the following apps will stop sharing information with the people you restrict:
- shared calendar
- Share a location using Find
- share notes
- Shared photos (including shared galleries and shared albums)
- When enabled, what information stops being shared with Safety Check?
- When Safety Check is enabled, it deletes all data collected by the following apps, networks, and features:
- contact person
- files and folders
- local network
- location service
- Media and Apple Music
- Sports and Fitness
- XSpeech recognition
How to Send Spam Calls Straight to Voicemail on Your Phone
What are the functions of the security check?
Safety Check has three main functions.
1. Emergency reset
The first function to look at in Safety Check is emergency reset.This is for anyone who wants to reset all people and app access immediately, and anyone who wants to review and reset all settings associated with your Apple ID.
- Your location will no longer be shared in Find Out
- Your privacy permissions for all apps will be reset
- Messages and FaceTime will be limited to your iPhone
2. Manage sharing and access
If you only want to limit sharing with certain people, you can chooseManage sharing and access.This will allow you to customize which people and applications can access your information.
3. Quick Exit
Finally, if you need to quickly hide the information you’ve set in the Safety Check app, all you have to do is tap the “Quick Exit” button and it will save any changes you’ve made and instantly bring you back to the Safety Check home page. During this time, no one will be able to access your changes.
Click here for the Fox News app
After you click Manage Sharing & Access, you’ll be taken to a list of your contacts, apps, and other devices (Mac laptops, iPads, etc.). You will then be able to choose who and what you want to share your information with. All your work is saved, and you can always return to the security check later and change your work.
Find quick tips and tools for iPhone by searching for “iPhone” on CyberGuy.com.
Copyright 2023 CyberGuy.com. all rights reserved. CyberGuy.com articles and content may contain affiliate links that earn commissions on purchases made.